Meet The Board

Linda Scott chair of the MHS board, has served on the board since 2011. She is the owner of Up North Title located in Virginia, Minnesota. Linda served as treasurer for MHS for the last four years and served on many different committees as well. Linda believes in the philosophy of MHS that no animal should be left behind. With that in mind, her goals for MHS are to continue to find ways to create sustainability and to build a new modern shelter to house the animals until we find them their forever homes. Linda breeds, trains, and shows Oldenburg sport horses in dressage and eventing. Linda and her husband Lloyd (animal whisper) live outside Gilbert with 3 dogs, 3 cats and 7 horses….the kids think it’s too cold to live in Minnesota.

Nancy Andrews

Carol Norman has served on the Mesabi Humane Society board for 5 years and is the board secretary. She was born and raised in Eveleth, MN. After graduating from high school, she moved to the Twin Cities for 25 years. Carol moved back to the Iron Range in December 1995. Carol Loves all animals, especially her dog, Gizmo whom she adopted from the Mesabi Humane Society in 2013. She believes in the care and loving treatment of all animals and their need to find loving homes.

Kathy Wiegert was a band director for 34 years in the County Schools of Cherry and Orr with a B.M.E from UW-River Falls, an M.S.E in Instruction from UW-Superior and an Educational Administration also from UW-Superior. A love of animals and enthusiasm for their care brought her to the Mesabi Humane Society.​

Jessica Foschi has been a member of the Mesabi Humane Society Board since 2021.  Jessica works as an Assistant St. Louis County Attorney in Virginia and Hibbing, focusing specifically on child protection cases, and is additionally an accomplished equestrian rider and trainer in the sport of dressage.  She earned her Juris Doctorate from the University of St. Thomas School of Law and Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Minnesota Duluth before returning to her hometown to practice law.  Jessica is passionate about animals and providing for their care, and that love led her to the MHS Board to help those in need and better serve her community.  

Justine Prout has served on the board for almost two years, and recently became Treasurer. She was born and raised in Virginia, MN. After graduating college she moved back home and currently works as an Accountant at Walker, Giroux, & Hahne. Justine loves all animals, especially her dog, Miller. She believes that every animal deserves a loving home and that is why the Mesabi Humane Society is so important. 

Deb Andrews is a retired mother of 2 boys, with 2 grandchildren, and a furry pet named Mazie. Deb grew up in Eveleth and still lives there. She likes to travel (even though it’s a long drive) to Bismark ND to visit her grandkids and spoil them. She also enjoys summer fishing, ice fishing, spending time at the lake with friends and family and walking in the woods during the fall looking for grouse. She has only been on the Mesabi Humane Society Board for a short time, and is learning how the MHS is run, all the hard work that goes into the shelter and the cost of needed product, the spay and neuter program, and what goes into the animals that are dropped off at the shelter. Deb also donates her time to the Care Partners Swedish Meatball Dinner and the Sand Lake Shuffle Spaghetti Feed.

Jessica Picek Jessica is new to the board in 2022. She works at Frandsen Bank and Trust as a Universal Banking Officer. As a little girl, she and her grandma would come to the Mesabi Humane Society all the time to play with the animals. Jessica has a lot of love for her two cats, Vinny and Binx, and had a passion to help all the animals at the shelter to get a loving home and find their forever family.

Interested in Joining the Mesabi Humane Society Board?

Do you love animals? Would you like to play an important role in our organization? From time to time we look for new individuals to join our board. Please take a look at the job description and Board application. Feel free to contact anyone on our executive committee to discuss questions you may have.

Executive Committee Members

Linda Scott

Carol Norman

Nancy Andrews

Kathy Wiegert

Justine Prout